What’s Up Wednesday #5

KITERUFFLED2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime’s post. We really hope you will take part!

What I’m Reading

I finished THE LADY THIEF by A.G. Gaughen over the weekend. It was incredible, of course. Perhaps even more so than SCARLET. I can’t wait for the final book in the trilogy, which isn’t due out until next year. How will I survive? That’s always the hardest part about falling in love with a book in a series—waiting for the sequel. I’m halfway through INFINITE by Jodi Meadows and am savouring every word. The writing is so beautiful.

What I’m Writing

Right now I’m a third of the way through the rewrite of the first half of SOULBOUND. Got that? I took a couple of days off to let some new ideas percolate and went back to the draft on Saturday night, adding 2k in a couple of hours. Getting up a bit earlier every morning this week has got me back into the swing of things and I’m working on the draft whenever I’m not at the day job or doing chores. Yes, this is my life.

What Inspires Me Right Now

This…

BpElO6tIcAAhH1K

Neil proposed on Sunday night and of course, I said yes! We’re engaged! And how utterly beautiful is my ring? I can’t stop staring at it. Oh, I am so happy! Spending the rest of my life with this wonderful man of mine is my inspiration. Also, starting to imagine how our wedding will look next May. Eeeep! So exciting!

What Else Have I Been Up To?

Ah, you know, just the usual. Summer term started on Monday, so I’m back at work, and as busy as ever. Weeding the non-fiction is taking forever, but I’m starting to see progress. I may have just had a break, but I’m already looking forward to the six week summer holidays. Will probably tackle revisions then.

Oh, and we went to see ‘The Edge of Tomorrow’ at the weekend, and wow, it was brilliant! I’d totally recommend it.

5 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #5

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!! And such a beautiful ring too! What a wonderful way to start the summer. :D
    I’m so happy you’re joining us for Ready. Set. WRITE! Have an awesome week!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS LAURA!! Oh my gosh, how utterly exciting for you, I think a dedicated post on how he proposed is needed for the squealing teenage girl inside me ;) Like Jaime said, such a positive start to the summer!

    Have a wonderful week!

  3. Congratulations!! my beautiful daughter. I’m so thrilled for you both, I can’t wait for the wedding next year and I am already planning wedding cake designs lol.
    Please hurry up and finish your novel as i’m dying to read it :) I have already read a sample and its fab!! i’m so proud of you. Keep up the good work

    Love you xxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

