Giving Notice

I handed in my notice today.

My last day at the library will be Saturday 7th December. That’s just over four weeks away. Eeeek!

I’ve been job-hunting in Lincolnshire since September, and only found two jobs in my field. The first opening was cancelled before they even shortlisted. I interviewed for the second last week—a full-time post of school librarian—but unfortunately lost out to a woman with decades of experience and a formal librarianship qualification. I was gutted.

So I’ve decided to go back to university to finish my BA in English. I completed my first year in 2009, but dropped out a few months into my second year due to health issues. I’m a whole lot better now. I plan to study full-time with the Open University from home. I missed the cut-off point for this academic year, so will have to wait until October 2014 to start.

The whole point of searching for a new job was to allow me to move in with Neil. We’ve been together just short of a year and are more than ready to move in together permanently. I’ve been driving between East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire all year, living with him between my shifts. And making a round trip of one-hundred-and-ten miles every day for just a few hours isn’t feasible.

As soon as my notice is up, I’ll be moving in with Neil. The job hunt will resume when we get back from India in mid-January. Even if it’s just for a few hours a week, a job will be a great platform to meet new people (massively important in a new city, where I don’t know anybody besides my boyfriend and some of his friends), and give me some independence. Besides, it’d be extra money to spend on books and pretty things for the house. Sounds good to me!

But until I score a new job, I’ll be writing full-time (yay!) and adjusting to running my own household. We’ve been playing house for months now, but this will be the real thing. Very exciting.

2 thoughts on “Giving Notice

  1. That’s both very exciting and terrifying. I recently gave my notice at my day job as well (taking a new job in the start of December), but that’ll give me two weeks of full-time writing for the last two months of November — perfect for NaNoWriMo! And revising my other work.

    Good luck with school! I hope you love Lincolnshire :)

  2. I really enjoyed that read Laura, you should be a writer. Obtaining a full time job in a field you enjoy is so difficult but my advice would be to apply for anything at all you could manage. It is always nice to have your own independent income even if you do live as a couple. Now we understand our ‘health issues’ I am sure you will be in a better position to carry on with your studies.

    I wish you the very best of luck in the future Laura. Love you lots.

    Uncle John xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

